Ducati Owners Club Of Canada

It only took 36 years

Ontario & Quebec
7 posts • Page 1 of 1

It only took 36 years

Postby Hornepayne » Fri Jun 29, 2012 10:57 am

Good day everyone, Just purchased, and just joined. I've been riding now for a little over 36 years, on 9 different bikes. A couple of months ago, my youngest son purchased a 2012 696 Monster ABS. I had the painful pleasure of riding the bike home 1400 km's from the dealer in Whitby. The performance was grand, but the comfort level was :( . Against everyone's suggestions, and my own better judgement, last week I purchased a 2012 848 Corse se. It was my first time on a super bike, and driving off for home I had a feeling in my gut that I had just made the biggest mistake of my riding career. This was confirmed when I spent the first 1hr or so riding in the city. The 848 did not like traffic, and the heat coming up was nothing short of 1st degree. Once I got on the hwy, things changed, and by the time I had 500km on I knew I had made a good choice. I did the 1400km in two shots, and only stopped for gas and food. Every 2 to 3 hours was all the tank had. The only other bike that I had that was more comfortable was my FLHTC. Great bike, great feeling, and a big thumbs up to the crew at GP bikes for the suspension set up, and fitting the bike to me. :shock: Any of you old timers that are skeptical about a super bike, I'm here to tell you, I could ride this thing to Alaska, and enjoy every mile.

In closing, glad to be a part of Ducati, and part of the DOCC. Robert Traven -- Hornepayne Ontario
Traction, Traction, Traction.......
Hornepayne

Re: It only took 36 years

Postby webb70 » Sat Jun 30, 2012 8:34 am

Congrats on the new bike, and welcome to the Club !!!!
:) :)
Kiss French, Drive German, and Ride Italian !
webb70

Postby 4theloveofducati » Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:44 am

Congrats on both! And I love when people say the superbikes are not ment for long haul and theres someone out there proving them wrong!