Ducati Owners Club Of Canada

Duc Oil

Discuss maintenance and modification of modern Ducatis'.
5 posts • Page 1 of 1

Duc Oil

Postby Martin Waterland » Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:20 am

I am changing from Mobil 1 High performance synthetic oil to maybe Amsoil for the yellow mistress and can't decide on which to give her; the 15W-50 racing oil or the 20W-50 motorcycle oil. I was just wondering what opinions are out there over my little quarry and what do YOU use?! Keeping in mind that we do enjoy a little romp or two on the sinful tarmac of course and not just the patrolled one.
Martin
_________________________________________________________________________________________________
As the crow flies?! Boring sort of a chap isn't he?!
Martin Waterland

Re: Duc Oil

Postby Sailor » Thu Apr 14, 2011 9:13 pm

I am no expert but I have worked in the marine industry for the last 30 yrs as a tech. I did alot of research after finding that I could not get the shell advance oil here in Canada and was surprised at what I found. I think that if you are running a water cooled bike a 10-40 will service the machine just fine, remember that the oil will start out as a 10 weight when its cold and then act as a 40 weight once it is hot. If you are running an air cooled Duc then a 15-50 or 20-50 would be best as they tend to run a bit hotter than the water cooled machine. I read a comparison of 6 to 7 oils that were tested together (Amsoil test) and the over all winner was Mobil 1 and amsoil came third, surprised me. The one critical area that Amsoil beat all the other oils was shear strenght, the action of the gear box shearing the oil during circulation and lets face it with the jumble of gears in the bottom of the bike (transmission) I would like an oil that stands up rather well in that area. Most oils now a days are fine for lubrication and cooling but Amsoil gets my vote.
If you find me on the side of the road, pick me up and put me back on my bike.
02 998S Bayliss (Stolen)